IF Bandwidth setting / dBm accuracy in measurements

Information and discussions on Spectrum Analysis
HNRAO
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 1:14 am

IF Bandwidth setting / dBm accuracy in measurements

Postby HNRAO » Thu Apr 04, 2019 2:24 pm

I want to measure the accuracy of an unknown noise source from 15 - 25 MHz. (I have several I need to measure).

As a test, I have a known calibrated noise source of 68 MK @ 20 MHz. This gives me 9.4E-10 mW, and a calculated dBm of -90.3. I've tried every combination of settings but the closest measurement I can get my settings is -87.3 dBm. That is a pretty big difference between -90.3 dBm and -87.3 dBm (a 3 dB difference). Either my settings are incorrect, or the SA is not as accurate as I need it to be. I'm thinking that my IF bandwidth is not set correctly, or, I don't know for sure what number IS the IF bandwidth for my calculations.

Reason: No reason

glovisol
Posts: 578
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 6:42 pm
Location: Piedmont, Italy

Re: IF Bandwidth setting / dBm accuracy in measurements

Postby glovisol » Thu Apr 04, 2019 3:40 pm

WHY DID YOU OPEN ANOTHER THREAD? IS THE FIRST ONE NOT ENOUGH?

Reason: No reason

SteveAndrew
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:06 pm
Location: Gold Coast, QLD, Australia

Re: IF Bandwidth setting / dBm accuracy in measurements

Postby SteveAndrew » Fri Apr 05, 2019 3:38 am

Please refer to your original thread. I posted a reply there.

Steve

Reason: No reason


Return to “Spectrum Analysis”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests