Mac or Windows?

General discussions
Joevano

Mac or Windows?

Post by Joevano » Fri Aug 10, 2018 1:48 pm

Getting my RSP-1A today and working on my setup. I have a choice of using Mac with CubicSDR, or windows laptop with SDRUno. Which way would be best? Easiest for a new user? Very newbie here, taking my Tech exam tomorrow...
Last edited by Joevano on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Roger

Re: Mac or Windows?

Post by Roger » Fri Aug 10, 2018 4:47 pm

I would use Windows software because you have a lot of choices: SDRuno, HDSDR and SDR-Console V3. All three are free and very good. You can use the one that has the user interface and features that work for you. I find that I use all three depending on what I want to listen to or record.

If you want to stick with a Mac you can use Cubic SDR - some folks like it. Or you can run Virtual Machine software like VMWare that allows you to run Windows on top of the Mac software.

fotoralf

Post by fotoralf » Fri Aug 10, 2018 8:03 pm

I've been a happy Mac user for the last 25 years for everything from word processing to photography and professional audio.

BUT...

Try anything that has to do with radio, ham radio, or SDR and you'll feel like the proverbial poor relative. Lots of fun stuff that isn't available for the Mac and whatever is, is second-rate at best.

My RSP2 used to be recognised by gqrx on my Macbook Pro on some days and not on others. No discernible pattern. Sometimes it would help to disconnect and reconnect the receiver a good dozen times until it would eventually be found. Now, both programs (Cubic SDR and gqrx) crash reliably each time I try to start them. At least some predictable behaviour for a change....