Entering A Freq. Via Mouse Scroll Wheel ?

General discussions
Post Reply
Robert11
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2018 12:00 pm

Entering A Freq. Via Mouse Scroll Wheel ?

Post by Robert11 » Wed Apr 10, 2019 10:02 am

Hello,

Have just upgraded to the latest version, and would like to ask about what I am experiencing.
I'm trying to remember correctly, but I don't think I saw this on the previous versions.

Everything works just great.
A really terrific piece of software, for sure.

I can type a frequency in with keyboard, hit Enter, and it goes there on the waterfall.
Also shows up, as it should in the Rx Control panel.

But, using the scroll wheel on the mouse sometimes works, and sometimes does not.
Not consistent; usually it does not do anything. But sometimes.
Should it ?
The yellow bar does show up, and I can position it over the place for any digit.

Anyone have any ideas why this might be ? Something to "enable," somewhere ?

And, using CSVUserListBrowser to control radio.
Works fine.
Click on one of the databases with the mouse, and the radio goes right there.
The frequency you clicked on also shows up on the Rx Control panel.
But a similar "problem". If I want to bypass CSVUserList Browser and enter a freq
via the mouse scroll wheel, I can't.

Any thoughts ?

Regards,
Bob

Reason: No reason

supwiddiss
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Entering A Freq. Via Mouse Scroll Wheel ?

Post by supwiddiss » Sat Apr 27, 2019 5:34 pm

It's been awhile since I addressed frequency control with mouse on sdruno.
I've never been able to tune easily using the touch pad on my laptop.
Direct frequency entry is at most very klunky using my keyboard.
I've read several articles for getting started and usage. Followed them to a t.
It simply does not work as advertised. I didn't really want to buy an external VFO to do the job.
And that's considering HDSDR works so flawlessly.

I was excited to see scanning added to the latest releases.
Is there a configuration file or hidden settings to let me use direct frequency entry and mouse/touchpad control with sdruno?

Reason: No reason

Paul
Posts: 350
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 9:52 am
Location: SW UK

Re: Entering A Freq. Via Mouse Scroll Wheel ?

Post by Paul » Sat Apr 27, 2019 6:22 pm

See User Manual: On SDRuno Main Panel select opt then user manual and see 3.6 (P18) and 3.8 (P21).
Hope this helps

Reason: No reason

g1hbe
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 3:28 pm
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: Entering A Freq. Via Mouse Scroll Wheel ?

Post by g1hbe » Sat Apr 27, 2019 7:00 pm

I use the mouse wheel method. Whatever frequency the display shows can be altered by hovering the mouse over any digit and turning the mouse wheel. Even numbers that aren't showing can be changed (and of course they then appear).

Reason: No reason
Andy

D.C. Alden
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:38 am

Re: Entering A Freq. Via Mouse Scroll Wheel ?

Post by D.C. Alden » Wed May 15, 2019 5:21 pm

Note also that if the LO Lock button is activated on the main panel, you cannot use the scroll wheel to tune outside the frequency range shown in the spectrum window.

For instance, if you are tuned to 7200 and the spectrum range is 7150 to 7300 you cannot hover over the 7 and change it to 8 (8200). If you tune the Lo Lock off, you can hover and tune anywhere.

I discovered this by accident.
Last edited by D.C. Alden on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Post Reply