MegaDipol MD300DX

Useful information regarding antennas for SDR products.
Mikesimpson

MegaDipol MD300DX

Post by Mikesimpson » Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:25 pm

I have been using my Wellbrook Loop ALA1530S+ for many years now for HF reception (mainly HFDL and GMDSS utilities). It was quite successful, however I have recently had the chance to use the MegaDipol MD300DX antenna from Bonito - https://www.bonito.net/hamradio/en/mega ... ve-dipole/ and it has been great.

I have mounted it by suspending from the top of a 7m fibreglass pole, and connected it to the RX with 30m of RG6 coax. So far I am receiving up to 3000 HFDL messages in a 12 hour period, far exceeding the Wellbrook in the same period. I use it with my RSP2 and SDRUno with 5 VRX feeding 5 copies of PC-HFDL via Virtual Audio Cable

So far this is looking like becoming my HF antenna of choice for a small suburban block.

Mike

Reason: No reason

pnoelw

Re: MegaDipol MD300DX

Post by pnoelw » Wed Nov 28, 2018 5:25 pm

Hi Mike

Interesting observations. A few questions
Are you in a quiet rf environment or typically suburban - with all the hash?
From your description, are you using it as a vertical dipole?
How does it perform down on MW and the beacons below that?

regards
Noel

Mikesimpson

Post by Mikesimpson » Wed Nov 28, 2018 9:21 pm

Hi Noel,

No, this is not a quiet RF environment, it is a typically suburban one with a fair bit of hash. Bonito do recommend that it works better in a quiet environment, but what antenna does not :-)
I am using it as a vertical dipole but have not tried it on beacons etc as there are not many which can actually be heard from the Sydney area. I will try it on MW soon, as said above I am mainly interested in utilities which are mainly above 10MHz.

Mike

pnoelw

Post by pnoelw » Thu Nov 29, 2018 3:46 pm

Thanks Mike
I would be interested to hear your views on its performance down at MW and below when you get round to giving it a spin there.
Noel.

Murphyv310