CubicSDR on a Mac

Post information or questions regarding SDRplay products here
Post Reply
soakland5
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 8:48 pm

CubicSDR on a Mac

Post by soakland5 » Mon Jul 22, 2019 8:51 pm

'm attempting to install CubicSDR on a Mac using SDRPlay RSP1 hardware. It keeps telling me I need Soapy SDR but I can't figure out how to do so. Can anyone help? I've tried a few things but no go. I've tried Gqrx and it doesn't seem to support SDRPlay (?). I just want a simple panadapter/receiver using the Ten-Tec Omni VII. Thanks for any help
Last edited by soakland5 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

sdrplay
Posts: 977
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:58 am

Re: CubicSDR on a Mac

Post by sdrplay » Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:25 pm

On our downloads page (https://www.sdrplay.com/downloads) click on the Mac tab - then you need the API installation which will also install the SoapySDR framework.

You also need CubicSDR built for the right version of SoapySDR, so you may need the version that's on our downloads page.

Best regards,

SDRplay Support

Reason: No reason

soakland5
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 8:48 pm

Re: CubicSDR on a Mac

Post by soakland5 » Mon Jul 22, 2019 10:00 pm

I tried doing that several times (the API install) and when I ran CubicSDR it still says the modules aren't loaded. What am I doing wrong?
Last edited by soakland5 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

sdrplay
Posts: 977
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:58 am

Re: CubicSDR on a Mac

Post by sdrplay » Mon Jul 22, 2019 11:40 pm

Are you only using CubicSDR from our website? A CubicSDR install from another site might not have support for the RSP.

When you start CubicSDR, the device selection window should appear. If the RSP doesn't appear, press refresh and see if then appears.

If that is not successful, open a terminal window and type...

SoapySDRUtil --info

and also

SoapySDRUtil --find="driver=sdrplay"

and then

SoapySDRUtil --probe="driver=sdrplay"

Check to make sure there are no errors. If there are no errors with SoapySDRUtil, then the issue is between CubicSDR and SoapySDR. If there are errors, then the issue is that SoapySDR cannot see the hardware.

In that case, type...

ioreg -p IOUSB -l -w 0

This should show the RSP connected.

Hope that helps,

Best regards,

SDRplay Support

Reason: No reason

soakland5
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 8:48 pm

Re: CubicSDR on a Mac

Post by soakland5 » Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:28 pm

Thanks for the info., Yes, I downloaded CubicSDR directly from your website. I attempted the steps and tried entering the terminal commands and this is what I got back:

Scotts-iMac:~ Donna$ SoapySDRUtil --info
dyld: Library not loaded: @rpath/libSoapySDR.0.7.dylib
Referenced from: /usr/local/bin/SoapySDRUtil
Reason: no suitable image found. Did find:
/usr/local/lib/libSoapySDR.0.7.dylib: stat() failed with errno=13
Abort trap: 6


Scotts-iMac:~ Donna$ SoapySDRUtil --find="driver-sdrplay"
dyld: Library not loaded: @rpath/libSoapySDR.0.7.dylib
Referenced from: /usr/local/bin/SoapySDRUtil
Reason: no suitable image found. Did find:
/usr/local/lib/libSoapySDR.0.7.dylib: stat() failed with errno=13
Abort trap: 6

Any ideas?
Last edited by soakland5 on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

sdrplay
Posts: 977
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:58 am

Re: CubicSDR on a Mac

Post by sdrplay » Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:41 pm

It's suggesting that there is no library in /usr/local/lib - can you paste here the result of...

ls -l /usr/local/lib

Best regards,

SDRplay Support

Reason: No reason

Post Reply