Omnirig and FT-991a not talking

An area to exchange hints and tips on various rig control software, also a place to ask the community questions if you are having problems.
Post Reply
K5JSG
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2019 7:31 pm

Omnirig and FT-991a not talking

Post by K5JSG » Fri Sep 13, 2019 7:48 pm

I am brand new to SDR's and Omnirig. I think I may be missing a setting or I am doing something wrong. I am having an issue getting omnirig and sdrplay to work with my rig. I don't think that omnirig is talking to the Yaesu FT-991a or either that SDRuno is not talking to omnirig. One of the two.

Ultimately, I'd like to use SRDuno as a panadapter with HRD running as well. I have seen the videos of using a virtual port splitter such as VSPE or com0com. I'd like to get that working as well, especially using com0com. But first I need SDRuno to play nice with the radio. Please anyone able to help or at least point me to the right direction?

I am currently running:

OS: Windows 10 Home Version 1903
Processor: intel i3-7100 @ 3.9GHz
Ram: 8 GB

FT-991a's Ports:
Enhanced Port - COM3
Standard Port - COM4

Omnirig version: 1.19

SDRuno version: 1.32

HRD Version: 6.6.0.236

Thanks for any help provided!

Jeremy - K5JSG
Last edited by K5JSG on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

User avatar
mikeladd
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 3:18 am

Re: Omnirig and FT-991a not talking

Post by mikeladd » Sat Sep 14, 2019 4:24 pm

You will need to properly configure omnirig in order for SDRuno to make use of the profile selected.
Almost all dual com port Yaesu rigs use the Enhanced port for rig control.
Double check your DTR/RTS settings. A google IMAGE search "ft991 omnirig" should be a good starting point

Reason: No reason

K5JSG
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2019 7:31 pm

Re: Omnirig and FT-991a not talking

Post by K5JSG » Sun Sep 15, 2019 7:57 pm

Hi Mike,

So I have omnirig setup as I am seeing in the images found on google.

RIG TYPE: FT-991
PORT: COM 3
BAUD RATE: 38400 (Confirmed in Radio: Menu ID # 031 - Cat rate: 38400)
DATA BITS: 8
PARITY: NONE
STOP BITS: 2
RTS: HIGH
DTR: HIGH
POLL INT., MS: 100
TIMOUT, MS: 200

As seen in the original post, my ports in device manager on windows 10 are Enhanced Port COM3 and Standard Port COM4.

However, going into SDRuno's main window and clicking on settings, going to ORIG it says "Can't connect to the OmniRig server"
Last edited by K5JSG on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: No reason

Post Reply